Current Archaeology Award Winners for 2023 announced

The results are in!

We are pleased to share the winners of this year’s CA Awards, announced on 25 February at Current Archaeology Live! 2023.

The awards celebrate the projects and publications that made the pages of the magazine over the past 12 months, and the people judged to have made outstanding contributions to archaeology.

These awards are voted for entirely by the public – there are no panels of judges – so we encouraged you to get involved and choose the projects, publications, and people you wanted to win.

Archaeologist of the Year (sponsored by Andante Travels):

David Jacques

Research Project of the Year (sponsored by Oxbow Books):

Prehistoric pioneers: how female migrants changed the face of Bronze Age Orkney

(University of Huddersfield/EASE Archaeology)

Rescue Project of the Year (sponsored by Wessex Insurance):

Archaeology adrift? A curious tale of Lego lost at sea

(The Lego Lost at Sea Project)

Book of the Year (sponsored by Ashmolean Museum Oxford):

Landscapes Revealed: geophysical survey in the Heart of Neolithic Orkney World Heritage Area, 2002-2011

(A. Brend, N. Card, J. Downes, M. Edmonds, and J. Moore)